Blog Diets Gluten Free Is Oatmeal Gluten-Free? Unveiling the Truth Behind The Breakfast Staple

Is Oatmeal Gluten-Free? Unveiling the Truth Behind The Breakfast Staple

The focus on a gluten-free diet has become greater as dietary tastes and health considerations have changed in the modern world. Oatmeal has gained popularity as a diverse and healthy option as a result of this demand. It is praised for its potential to improve heart health, aid digestion, and maintain energy levels. However, a question remains: is oatmeal gluten-free?


People who suffer from celiac disease or are gluten intolerant should pay close attention to the answer to this question. Although oats are naturally gluten-free, they often come into contact with gluten-containing grains when processed, transported, or stored. People with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivities may experience a reaction, even from very small amounts of gluten in their oats, due to cross-contamination. If you’re wondering if oatmeal is gluten-free, we’ve got all the answers for you!

Is Oatmeal Gluten-free? 

Oats are naturally gluten-free. However, the question regarding whether oatmeal is gluten-free is more complex than a simple yes or no. Due to the possibility that it has been processed in the same facility as grains such as wheat, rye, and barley, oatmeal can become contaminated with gluten. (1) There is also a risk when oatmeal is transported in containers that once contained gluten-containing cereals, or grown in fields next to crops that contain gluten. If you have celiac disease or are gluten intolerant, you can still consume oats, but you must look for a label that says they are gluten-free. If you strictly follow a gluten-free diet and do not see this type of label, you should not eat the product. (2) To reduce the possibility of gluten contamination, oats must go through stringent testing and management. 

Is Oatmeal Gluten-free Or Not?

As previously mentioned, oats are naturally gluten-free grains. However, whether oatmeal is gluten-free is nuanced and is dependent on several factors. Oats don’t naturally contain gluten, but there is a chance that gluten can be cross-contaminated in different production, processing, and distribution phases. When it comes to labeling laws, products that are labeled gluten-free in the United States must have gluten levels of less than 20 parts per million (ppm).  (3). 

BetterMe app will kick you out of the mental funk, shake off your extra weight, rid you off your energy-zapping habits, and help you sculpt the body of your dreams. Intrigued? Hurry up and change your life for the better!

See also
Simple And Practical Tips On How To Go Dairy And Gluten-Free

Oatmeal should be consumed with caution by those who follow a gluten-free diet due to celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or other medical conditions. And it is advised to only choose oatmeal that is “certified gluten-free”. This kind of oatmeal is processed according to best practices that reduce the risk of cross-contamination, and samples are tested to ensure gluten content standards are met. The certification reduces the possibility of cross-contamination and means the oats comply with stringent gluten content guidelines. 

Oat processors currently avoid or eliminate potential agricultural admixture with gluten-containing grains in two primary ways. Producing gluten-free oatmeal can be done either way, and the two approaches are often combined: 

1. Purity Protocol

Gluten-free oats are grown, harvested, transported, stored, processed, and manufactured according to protocol. This procedure addresses the initial stages of oat production through a series of non-regulated procedures. 

2. Mechanical Sorting

This happens while the oats are being processed. Oats are sorted using machinery to verify that they are the correct size, shape, and color and to get rid of mold and other undesirable elements, such as wayward grains. When oats are sent to an oat processing facility, they are sorted, but in the majority of cases, the processor has a limit on the amount of gluten that can be tolerated and rejects oats with excessive levels of gluten. 

With these methods, the health benefits of oatmeal can be enjoyed without sacrificing any dietary requirements. Some people may find that they still have trouble with oat products that are labeled gluten-free. If you have any concerns about your health or the consumption of gluten, you should always speak to a registered dietitian or medical doctor.

Gluten-free diet

Can You Eat Oatmeal If You Are Gluten Intolerant?

Many gluten-intolerant people often lament their gastrointestinal issues after eating gluten-containing foods. For those with celiac disease or other related illnesses, oatmeal fiber is fantastic. It can also aid in decreasing inflammation and help with blood sugar, cholesterol, and weight management. However, those who are sensitive to gluten sometimes wonder whether eating oatmeal is a good idea or not. If you are gluten intolerant, you may still be able to consume oatmeal, but you must be careful and choose the proper sort. However, cross-contamination in gluten occurs when oats are farmed next to crops that contain gluten, if they are processed in facilities that also handle cereals containing gluten, or if they are transported and kept in containers that have previously contained gluten-containing goods. 

See also
The Gluten-Free Mediterranean Diet: How It Works, Benefits, And Tips For Getting Started

Here’s how you can safely consume oatmeal if you are gluten intolerant: 

1. Choose Certified Gluten-free Oatmeal 

Try and find oatmeal that is “certified gluten-free”. Gluten-free oatmeal is produced, processed, and handled in facilities that are specifically designed for the manufacturing of gluten-free goods. They pass through thorough testing to ensure that they adhere to gluten-free standards and pose the minimum chance of cross-contamination. The number of companies that make gluten-free oats has increased, but there is much debate among celiacs about the safety of the two processes. To physically eliminate pollutants from the oat supply, the majority of large manufacturers, such as Bob’s Red Mill and General Mills, use a mechanical (sometimes referred to as optical) sorting technique. Some celiacs claim that this isn’t good enough as the sifting isn’t thorough enough. (5) This may be a question of individual sensitivity and you should talk to your healthcare provider if you have concerns. 

2. Read Labels

Even if oatmeal is marked as gluten-free, it is still wise to check the ingredient list and any allergen warnings to make sure there are no potential gluten sources. However, you should not consume any oats or oatmeal if you have an avenin sensitivity. (6) Avenin, which is an oat protein, is assumed to have a different sensitivity, although research has revealed that it can cause a similar reaction to a gluten sensitivity. Although there is no intestinal damage, the symptoms may resemble those of celiac disease.

3. Monitor Your Body’s Response 

People can react differently to oats. Some people with gluten intolerance may be able to consume pure, gluten-free oatmeal without experiencing any discomfort. You should pay attention to how your body responds after you eat oatmeal, and seek medical advice if you have any problems. It is often advised to cut out all oat-based meals and goods from your diet for a set amount of time if you encounter any sensitivity, and you should also keep an eye on your symptoms to see if they improve. (7

4. Consult A Healthcare Professional:

Working closely with a doctor or dietitian and maintaining a gluten-free diet is essential if you have been told you are gluten-sensitive or intolerant. They may offer you advice regarding dietary choices and help you determine whether oatmeal is a good choice for you. You should consult a doctor if you believe that ingesting gluten is contributing to any health problems. The doctor will likely perform laboratory testing to rule out celiac disease and other gastrointestinal diseases after obtaining a history of symptoms and performing a physical examination. (8

See also
A Gluten-Free Low-Carb Diet: Simple Meal Plan And Recipes To Follow

If you are gluten intolerant, you may want to consider consuming gluten-free oatmeal, but it’s important to put your health first and make decisions that are based on how your body reacts and the advice of medical professionals.

Read more: Gluten Free Bread Recipes: Light, Fluffy, and Delicious Breads.

What Oatmeal Is Not Gluten-free?

Searching for a gluten-free label on the container is the quickest way of identifying gluten-free oatmeal. The majority of oat products do not include wheat among their ingredients, but they still pose a significant gluten contamination risk. Due to the possibility of cross-contamination by gluten-containing grains during growing, processing, and packing, regular or ordinary oatmeal may not be regarded as gluten-free.(9)  Oatmeal varieties that might not be gluten-free include: 

1. Conventional Oatmeal

Oats are inherently gluten-free, but regular oatmeal may become contaminated with gluten during manufacturing and handling. Oatmeal that has not been certified as gluten-free is more likely to have higher levels of cross-contamination. However, unadulterated, pure oats are gluten-free. 

Oats are regarded as a gluten-free grain by the US Food and Drug Administration, which simply stipulates that packaged products that include oats as an ingredient must have an overall gluten content of less than 20 parts per million. (10

2. Bulk Bin Oatmeal

Oats from bulk bins in grocery shops are more likely to be contaminated by gluten-containing foods as they may have been exposed to them in the same area. 

3. Instant Flavored Oatmeal Packets

Gluten-containing additives and flavorings are often found in instant oatmeal packets that come in a variety of flavors. You should read the ingredient list on the packaging very carefully. 

4. Oatmeal From Unspecified Sources

Cross-contamination risks may be higher in oatmeal that lacks any gluten-free certification or has unambiguous labeling identifying its classification.

See also
7 Surprisingly Simple Yet Satisfying Vegan Gluten-Free Snacks For On-The-Go Convenience

Choose a packet that is marked as “certified gluten-free” in order to verify that it is gluten-free oatmeal. (11) Strict gluten-free requirements must be complied with by these products, which are specifically created and processed to reduce the chance of cross-contamination. Always carefully study ingredient and allergen information on food labels, and if you have any questions about consuming gluten, you should consider consulting a registered dietitian. 

gluten free oatmeal

Are Oats Inflammatory?

Oats are often suggested as a secure dietary replacement for those who are following a gluten-free diet. Only wheat, barley, and rye (sometimes oats, sometimes not) are included in the classical definition of gluten. Therefore, the crucial question is: Is oatmeal inflammatory for people with gluten intolerance? (12

Oatmeal has anti-inflammatory properties. Oatmeal fiber contains a lot of potent vitamins and minerals. In addition to protein, 24 phenolic compounds, or plant substances with antioxidant capabilities, are present in oats. One class of antioxidants known as avenanthramides, which are almost exclusively present in oats, can help lower inflammation and prevent coronary heart disease. (13

It’s important to remember that everyone reacts to food in different ways. Oats may cause stomach pain or inflammation in certain people, particularly if they have certain sensitivities or intolerances. 

Whether you’re looking to simply pep up your fitness routine, jazz up your diet with mouth-watering low-calorie recipes or want to get your act together and significantly drop that number on your scale – BetterMe app has got you covered! Improve your body and revamp your life with us!

Frequently Asked Questions

Why can’t some people eat oats?

Some people cannot eat gluten-free oatmeal, even if it has been tested and confirmed. Oats are often listed among the grains that those who follow a gluten-free diet should avoid as they have historically been farmed alongside or close to crops containing gluten. For example, farmers may rotate their crops, planting oats one year and wheat the next, which allows stray wheat from the previous crop to thrive in the oat field. The oats may subsequently be cleaned and processed in a facility that also produces grains that contain gluten, transported in a vehicle that has been cross-contaminated, or kept in a silo that has contained gluten. Oats that were previously gluten-free have been found to be contaminated with gluten in certain situations. (14

See also
Wholesome And Healthy Gluten-Free Dinner Recipes For Every Taste

In addition to people with gluten intolerance and celiac disease, other people who cannot consume oats include: 

  • Those with avenin sensitivity 
  • Those with allergic reactions to oats (which is rare)
  • Those who need to be on a low-fiber diet, such as if they are healing from gastrointestinal surgery or during an inflammatory bowel disease flare-up

It’s essential to remember that despite the fact that some people cannot tolerate oats, many others can eat them without any problems and benefit from oatmeal fiber. It is advised to speak with a medical doctor or registered dietitian if you believe oats are making you uncomfortable or producing bad reactions. They can help you determine the underlying problem and direct you toward the best nutritional options.

oatmeal nutrition

How is gluten removed from oats?

Oats don’t initially contain gluten. However, “removing” gluten merely means that the oats are produced in a totally different field and processed in a facility that does not—and has never— handled any grains that contain it. This prevents cross-contamination from occurring. The process of producing gluten-free oats involves careful cultivation, processing, and testing as a means of eliminating the risk of cross-contamination. 

To make sure oatmeal is gluten-free, it must be:

  • Grown in dedicated fields far away from gluten-containing crops 
  • Produced in facilities that are exclusively dedicated to gluten-free production
  • Rigorously tested to meet gluten-free standards
  • Subjected to a certification process
  • In packaging that is labeled gluten-free

It should be noted that those with celiac disease or severe gluten sensitivity should specifically look for oats that are labeled “certified gluten-free” to ensure their safety. 

What can I eat for breakfast that’s gluten-free?

If you’re gluten-free, here are some tasty and healthy breakfast options for you: 

If you’re looking for some Indian gluten-free options, here are some suggestions: 

  • Poha 
  • Besan chilla
  • Rice idli
  • Dosa
  • Sabudana khichdi
  • Upma
  • Gluten-free aloo paratha

Read more: Is Quinoa Gluten Free: What Science Says.

When preparing these dishes, you should ensure that you use gluten-free ingredients and flours to make them safe for a gluten-free diet. Always double-check ingredient labels and cross-contamination risks if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.



This article is intended for general informational purposes only and does not address individual circumstances. It is not a substitute for professional advice or help and should not be relied on to make decisions of any kind. Any action you take upon the information presented in this article is strictly at your own risk and responsibility!


  1. Are Oats Gluten-Free?  (Evolving Table, 2023) 
  2. Are Oats And Oat Flour Gluten-Free? (Gluten Intolerance Group, 2021) 
  3.  Are Oats Gluten-Free? (Beyond Celiac)
  4. Best Gluten-Free Oatmeal Brands (Gluten-Free Palette)
  5. How To Tell If Your Oats Really Are Gluten-Free? (Popular Science, 2023)
  6.  Is Oatmeal Inflammatory? (Gluten Free Society)
  7. Oats: Are They Gluten-Free And Are They Healthful? (Medical News Today)
  8. Why Some Individuals Can’t Eat Oats Even When They’re Gluten-Free? (Eating Gluten Free)
  9.  The Top 5 Health Benefits Of Oatmeal (Path Of Life)
  10. What To Know About An Oat Allergy? (Medical News Today)
  11. Why Some People Cannot Eat Oats? (Bob’s Red Mill )