Weight loss Blog - BetterMe

Take 1 Min BMI Quiz

Select your gender:

Male Female
Nutrition » Diets » Vegan » Is Maple Syrup Vegan? What You Should Consider Before Drowning Your Pancakes in It

Is Maple Syrup Vegan? What You Should Consider Before Drowning Your Pancakes in It

is maple syrup vegan

What You Should Consider Before Drowning Your Pancakes in Maple Syrup

The Vegan Diet has become a buzzword in the internet debates online. This diet is unique in a sense that it proclaims itself as ethical in the first place. Indeed, people properly following this diet gets a number of health benefits, yet the concern about the exploitation of animals remains the primary reason for becoming vegan. However, the specific restriction the Vegan Diet places on your menu makes a lot of products problematic, and sometimes determining whether some product is vegan or not becomes a tricky question. This is exactly the case of maple syrup. Is maple syrup vegan? Follow this article to sort it all out.

Get Ultimate 28 Days Workout & Meal Plan

What is a Vegan diet?

Veganism is a lifestyle. People becoming vegan try their best in order not to harm any living creature. That’s why they not only refuse eating meat and fish, like Vegetarians, but also avoid the consumption of any animal-based product. According to vegans, the production of animal-based foods is inherently cruel and exploitative towards animals. That’s why even products containing a small amount of milk or butter are considered non-vegan, which significantly restricts your diet. However, with the right approach, veganism can be a totally healthy dietary plan, you just need to know how to substitute nutrients from foods banned on this diet with plant-based alternatives. 

Here’s a short list of products allowed on the Vegan diet. Out of this, actually quite extensive list, you can make an individual vegan diet plan (1, 2, 3). 

  • All kinds of fruits and vegetables;
  • a group of nuts and seeds (walnuts, cedar, chestnut, cashew, almonds, hazelnuts, Brazil nuts, macadamias, pistachios and, of course, coconut);
  • the whole variety of cereals and grains; and
  • legumes (peas, beans, beans, lentils of almost 10 varieties and colors: red, yellow, green, chickpeas, mung bean, soy).

However, some products may become a tangled issue for vegans. Maple syrup is ostensibly a strictly vegan product – it is extracted exclusively from trees, after all. Yet, due to the peculiarities of the process of production, the one you buy might be a no-go, and you wouldn’t know it at all.

If you wish to cinch your waist, tone up your bat wings, blast away the muffin top – our fitness app was created to cater to all your needs! BetterMe won’t give excess weight a chance!

is maple syrup vegan and gluten free

Benefits of Maple Syrup:

Maple syrup is made from maple tree sap that’s been boiled down to reduce the water content and concentrate the sugars. Those sugars caramelize, resulting in maple syrup’s characteristic rich color and flavor. While natural maple syrup is considered healthier than refined sugar, you should consume it in moderation, as with any sweetener, and it should be considered a replacement of sugar, not an add-on to your diet. As such, maple syrup has the following benefits:

  • It сontains more calcium than milk;
  • high in riboflavin, which aids in metabolic processes;
  • has a low glycemic index with low level of absorption which makes it better than normal sugar for diabetics;
  • is low in calories, making it a good substitute for anyone on a diet;
  • is a high source of vitamins and minerals;
  • contains antioxidants that have protective value and can help the body fight against cancer and diabetes;
  • high in manganese, which aids in brain function;
  • сontains more potassium than banana;
  • high in zinc, which helps support the immune system (4); and
  • contains potassium which aids in reduction of hypertension and chances of stroke.

Looks totally fine for vegans, right? – Not exactly.

what is vegan maple syrup

Is Maple Syrup Vegan? 

One problem originates in how the final product is made. After the sap is collected, it’s taken to the sugarhouse to be boiled down;  this process evaporates the water and caramelizes the sugar, leaving the mixture nice and thick. However, it makes a lot of foam in the syrup; so many brands use one non-vegan product to reduce the foam.

To put it bluntly, animal fat is used in the production of maple syrup to defoam the product after it has been boiled. What’s worse is that animal fat isn’t even listed in the ingredient list on product labels, so people could live through their lives with pancakes without realizing they’re actually eating lard.

Why is Maple Syrup not Vegan?

Another reason maple syrup wouldn’t reasonably be vegan is because it contains honey in it, or because it contains milk-derived “butter flavor”. Some that include “butter” in their name are vegan-friendly still, but others apparently aren’t, so if the one you’re looking at isn’t listed above but says “butter” it would be better to skip it, and buy a different one. If it says “honey” you should definitely give it a pass, as those seem to always include real honey.

How to understand whether your particular maple syrup is vegan? For the most part, look at the labels. Any organic product can only use certified organic vegetable oils in production. Kosher brands will usually fit you too. But if your syrup isn’t labeled as certified organic, kosher, or vegan, you can always do a bit of research. Write an email to the specific maple syrup company or contact them on Facebook to find out whether they use animal products in the production of their syrup at any stage of the process.

Get Ultimate 28 Days Workout & Meal Plan

Conclusion

To sum it up, maple syrup is a good substitute of sugar for vegans. However, you should always be careful with brands and labels to understand whether this particular syrup is vegan or not.

Remember that a proper diet is not everything you need. Supplement it with this 20 Min Full Body Workout at Home challenge!

DISCLAIMER:

This article is intended for general informational purposes only and does not address individual circumstances. It is not a substitute for professional advice or help and should not be relied on to make decisions of any kind. A licensed physician should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Any action you take upon the information presented in this article is strictly at your own risk and responsibility!

SOURCES:

  1. A Low-Fat Vegan Diet Improves Glycemic Control and Cardiovascular Risk Factors in a Randomized Clinical Trial in Individuals With Type 2 Diabetes (2006, ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
  2. A Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial of a Plant-Based Nutrition Program to Reduce Body Weight and Cardiovascular Risk in the Corporate Setting: The GEICO Study (2013, ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
  3. Vegetarian, Vegan Diets and Multiple Health Outcomes: A Systematic Review With Meta-Analysis of Observational Studies (2017, ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
  4. Zinc (n.d., webmd.com)
Kristen Fleming

Kristen Fleming

I am a U.S. educated and trained Registered Dietitian (MS, RD, CNSC) with clinical and international development experience. I have experience conducting systematic reviews and evaluating the scientific literature both as a graduate student and later to inform my own evidence-based practice as an RD. I am currently based in Lusaka, Zambia after my Peace Corps service was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic and looking for some meaningful work to do as I figure out next steps. This would be my first freelance project, but I am a diligent worker and quite used to independent and self-motivated work.

Kristen Fleming, MS, RD, CNSC

Add comment

Fill The Form And Get Free “28 Day Keto Challenge” Book