Kristen Fleming holds a Master of Science in Nutrition. Over her 8 years of experience in dietetics, she has made significant contributions in clinical, community, and editorial settings. With 2 years as a clinical dietitian in an inpatient setting, 2…
Veganism is, for many people, a lifelong commitment to preserving animals. Still, that doesn’t mean one wouldn’t still crave the mouth-watering taste of tantalizing chocolate. Is dark chocolate vegan? Can you safely eat it? The answer is two-fold, depending on how you define veganism. Allow me to clear up the difference before telling you how to identify the best dairy-free dark chocolate for guilt-free pleasures. Also, I’ll add some vegetarian choices for veggie gurus.
Are You Vegan Or Vegetarian?
Before indulging in mouth-watering dark chocolate suitable for vegans (and vegetarians), you must know that some chocolate contains dairy byproducts because of multi-produce factories. Vegetarians are welcome to try them.
Meanwhile, it helps to know the difference between veganism and vegetarianism (25).
Vegan Dark Chocolate
Vegans eat no animal products, byproducts, dairy, seafood, or eggs. Die-hard vegans avoid all traces of animal products and byproducts, including honey (24). In addition, they typically avoid any product resulting from what they consider animal cruelty or testing by omitting such things as leather, animal-tested make-up, and mink coats.
This means they only eat plant-based foods without factory contamination from multiple products. For example, some dairy factories produce dark chocolate in the same space as other dairy products, potentially contaminating the candy bars with traces of byproducts.
Vegetarian Dark Chocolate
Vegetarians also enjoy eating plant-based foods for health or other purposes (27). Some of them are fine with including dairy products and/or eggs, depending on their personal preferences. This means that chocolate containing dairy wouldn’t be a problem for them. For example, vegetarians may eat dark chocolate with dairy byproduct contamination.
The pressing question is whether dark chocolate is vegan. You should know the vegan-friendly ingredients on labels before buying 100% vegan dark chocolate. Also, learn about certified vegan logos.
But first, let’s understand the three main chocolate types. Unfortunately, two of the standard chocolate types aren’t suitable for vegans. So, is chocolate vegan? It can be, but let’s see which ones are vegan and vegetarian-friendly.
Three Different Chocolate Types
I’ll list the three chocolate types from worst to best in relation to the amount of cacao:
White chocolate contains the least cacao. The Washington Post states that white chocolate contains 20% cacao solids (10). It has numerous dairy ingredients unsuitable for vegans, but okay for vegetarians who eat dairy products.
Milk chocolate is another bad idea because the name says it all. The chocolate includes cacao and milk solids. The Business Insider claims milk chocolate may have up to 40% cacao (12).
Dark chocolate can be both vegan and vegetarian-friendly. In addition, Harvard claims that dark chocolate contains 50% or more cacao is dark, bitter, and considered healthy by some because of its higher concentration of cacao (7). Meanwhile, dark chocolate has less dairy and byproducts, sometimes containing none.
Vegetarian And Vegan Chocolate Ingredients
The Go Dairy Free Organization shares theingredients you need to watch for as a vegan (14). Vegan-friendly dark chocolate should contain zero animal byproducts or multi-produced factory traces. They should be dairy-free and have one or more vegan ingredients like:
Cholesterol (5) (not an ingredient or additive but if you see it on the nutrition facts label, it may be a clue that dairy ingredients are included)
Cream
Dairy byproducts
Egg lecithin
Lactose
Milk fat
Milk powder
Milk solids
Palm oil (depending on personal preferences)
Whey
Indeed, dark chocolate is vegan, and you may enjoy a mouth-watering block. However, you must know what to look for on labels to avoid dark chocolate that is better suited for vegetarians or others.
BetterMe app will provide you with a host of fat-frying fitness routines that’ll scare the extra pounds away and turn your body into a masterpiece! Get your life moving in the right direction with BetterMe!
Worrisome Anti-Vegan Chocolate Ingredients
. For some vegans, palm oil is out even though it’s technically a plant-based ingredient. According to The Guardian, palm oil is controversial for some vegans and others because of its impact on the environment and animal habitats (21).
Labels And Vegan Certification
Fortunately, the FDA requires companies to list every ingredient on labels because of food allergies, helping vegans choose good dark chocolate (9). It’s excellent news that the FDA is on every brand’s case because they can’ta chocolate vegan if it isn’t.
Vegan products may also have the certified vegan logo (4). However, this certification is voluntary and not all vegan products will have it.
What Percent Dark Chocolate Is Vegan?
Finally, the percentages on chocolate bars matter because higher rates ensure more cacao and fewer substitutes. For example, Harvard mentions the type of dark chocolate with fewer risks of non-vegan additives has a 50% or higher cacao content (7).
50% or more cacao is more likely to be vegan-friendly. That said, 100% cacao is the top pick for vegans, but few brands make it, and it tastes very bitter.
9 Best Dairy-Free Vegan Chocolate Brands
Is your mouth watering for 100% vegan chocolate candy? Finally now, I’ll share the top vegan chocolate bars you can enjoy without guilt. Of course, vegetarians and meat eaters are also welcome to try pure vegan chocolate candy to wet those dreamy, healthy taste buds.
Alter Eco Dark Chocolate
Alter Eco has various vegan-friendly bars from which to choose (6). The brand prides itself on sustainability, non-GMO, and entirely organic chocolate bars for vegans. The bars contain no ingredients which would be inedible for a die-hard vegan. I love the 90% cacao bar.
Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels
Enjoy Life’s dark chocolate morsels are ideal for serious vegans (8). The chocolate morsels are “free from” and include various certified labels. This chocolate is perfect for vegans wanting to melt it over some delicious fruit or use it in gluten-free recipes.
Hu Vegan Chocolate
Hu has a delicious organic vegan candy bar with three simple ingredients (20). The Hu Simple Dark Chocolate bar has cacao, organic cocoa butter, and unrefined coconut sugar. It’s a trio of vegan-friendly, plant-based ingredients for a yummy experience.
Lindt’s 100% Cocoa Dark Chocolate is the only vegan option from the brand (1). It has the purest form of cacao and includes walnuts and red berries. The taste is sophisticated and intense. That said, it might have trace factory dairy elements and be better for vegetarians.
Nomo is a well-known vegan brand that offers brilliant chocolate bars. The Nomo chocolates are 100% dairy-free and contain no byproducts (22). In addition, Nomo has various “free-from” chocolates for cooking, snacking, and dipping strawberries.
No Whey! Vegan Dark Chocolate Bar
No Whey Foods have exceptional vegan-friendly chocolate bars that contain zero dairy products (18). Meanwhile, the vegan-certified food brand also has surprising selections of vegan chocolate candy (11). My favorite No Whey vegan candy is the Brownie Bar.
Theo’s Organic Orange Dark Chocolate
Theo’s has jaw-dropping orange-flavored vegan chocolate with four ingredients (19). The organic orange chocolate bar has cacao beans, orange extract, cane sugar, and cocoa butter. It’s the perfect fruity vegan candy bar to tease your tastebuds.
Vego Whole Vegan Hazelnut Chocolate Range
Vego is another fun brand for vegans, and it includes delicious hazelnut products (26). The two products most suitable for vegans are the whole hazelnut chocolate bars and spread.
Whole Foods Organic Vegan Chocolate Loaf
Whole Foods has a vegan chocolate loaf that contains no non-vegan ingredients (23). Unfortunately, those with wheat allergies will be prevented from enjoying the vegan chocolate loaf. However, it’s an excellent alternative to traditional candy bars.
Betterme will keep you laser-focused on your weight loss journey! Nutrient-packed meal plans, fat-blasting workouts, galvanizing challenges and much more. Try using the app and see for yourself!
FAQs
Are Strawberries In Chocolate Vegan?
Dipping wholesome strawberries in dark chocolate is vegan-friendly as long as the chocolate is vegan. You’re combining vegan-certified chocolate with a fruity treat. Vegan-certified dark chocolate dripping over Driscoll’s organic strawberries is a heavenly match for vegans (4, 28).
What Is Vegan-Certified Dark Chocolate?
Certified vegan dark chocolate proudly shows the certified vegan logo on the packaging (4). Only products with zero animal testing, no animal GMOs, and 100% vegan ingredients earn this logo. If you see it on a vegan chocolate bar, feel free to eat the delicious candy. It is a voluntary certification, so not all vegan products will have it, and not having the certification doesn’t mean that the product is not vegan.
Is Hershey’s Oat Chocolate Vegan?
Hershey’s joined the vegan trend by adding the Hershey’s Oat Made Chocolate Bar. Hershey’s used oat milk powder to keep the chocolate ideal for vegans. Target stores have sold the bars. Unfortunately, Hershey’s vegan bars are now unavailable (13).
Is Chocolate Vegan? The Bottom Line
Is dark chocolate vegan? Yes, tantalizingly smooth vegan chocolate is available for die-hard vegans. Fortunately, vegetarians and anyone can also enjoy vegan-friendly dark chocolate. So, it’s a win for both teams, vegans who want zero animal byproducts and those who don’t mind some.
DISCLAIMER:
This article is intended for general informational purposes only and does not serve to address individual circumstances. It is not a substitute for professional advice or help and should not be relied on for making any kind of decision-making. Any action taken as a direct or indirect result of the information in this article is entirely at your own risk and is your sole responsibility.
BetterMe, its content staff, and its medical advisors accept no responsibility for inaccuracies, errors, misstatements, inconsistencies, or omissions and specifically disclaim any liability, loss or risk, personal, professional or otherwise, which may be incurred as a consequence, directly or indirectly, of the use and/or application of any content.
You should always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition or your specific situation. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay seeking it because of BetterMe content. If you suspect or think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor.
Honestly this app is awesome I never thought this app was this good and so helpful, have tryed and texted it ! It gave me options on how I want my dairy goals to be with the reminder It's easy to use simple question when sign in and anyone can use, more exposure when you want to lose weight would simply say it has more options you want to gain weight, lose weight or build your body. I highly recommend it for the fact that it even has first one week free trial when you don't like it you leave it
Great Experience!
Ryan N.
Great Experience! Easy to use and is always with me on my phone. I now have a diet plan,the app helped me gain weight in a short period of time, my training schemes have benefited from BetterMe. Before I started the training programs and fitness training plans, I had trouble eating late at night, but since then I have been in good physical shape and sleep. It has been truly mind-blowing, and I suggest it. literally the most complete. I hope it helps me achieve my dream body.
Very helpful
Lady L.
Very helpful. Very encouraging. I am more motivated with this app. I live the dietary suggestions and meal plans. And I'm actually doing yoga! I assumed I couldn't do it. But with the live coaches and support... they encourage you and never judge you.